Carnival of Unschooled Life: The “Not-Back-to-School” Edition

CarnivalLogo

Go to life, not school.

Right about now, the rest of the world is gearing up for “back-to-school.” My memories of those stomach-churning days include heavy, ugly shoes (that would wear well, my mother assured me) and clunking my way to school (in said shoes) in the cool, crisp morning air, while wishing I was back at home.

Now, I am at home, and so is my child, and so are all of you. Let the celebration of “Not-Back-to-School” begin!

lifeathome

Life at Home

Heather Newman presents ToonTown Madness posted at Daily Cuppa Joy.

outintheworld

Out in the World

Rana presents Thinking out of the box! posted at Free to learn an lovin it.

Christina Gremore presents How Unschoolers Fare in the Real World at Confessions of a Reluctant Teacher.

inspirations

Inspirations

Jessie Voigts presents Princess Sea Dives into the Ocean of Knowledge posted at Wandering Educators.

darknightsofthesoul

Dark Nights of the Soul

Whew! What a relief! Nobody seems to be having any right now.

encountersoftheschool-ykind

Encounters of the School-y Kind

Mandy presents Ok?! at Sweetness and Light Live. It’s about one of the most powerful school-y encounters possible — the one you have with your own mother!

beginnings

Beginnings

Teresa Youngblood presents the very fitting What’s August like? posted at Seed Thoughts.

Next, Angela Wolff presents Sick Days at Camp Wolff. Angela is “New to homeschooling in general and unschooling in particular, [and] is realizing that pulling her kids from school is not only the right thing for their education, but really the perfect continuation of the attachment parenting she’s been practicing all along.” Let’s all give Angela a big round of applause.

passages

Passages

Jacqueline Parks presents Not Back to School at Traipsing about Granby.

miscellaneous

Miscellaneous

Idzie presents “Unschooling”: Good term, or bad? at her blog, which has my favorite blog title in the entire world, I’m Unschooled. Yes, I Can Write.

***Heartfelt thanks to all who submitted posts. You have helped me to make this carnival happen a second time and I am very grateful. Please submit to the next edition of The Carnival of Unschooled Life — which will be here at The Expanding Life on October 1, 2009 — by using the carnival submission form. October’s carnival will not have a theme, just the usual categories, which are described here. Past posts can be found on the blog carnival index page.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    jessiev said,

    great list of posts!! i can’t wait to go explore. thanks for all of your hard work!

  2. 2

    Heather said,

    Thanks for doing another great job 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading everyones posts

  3. 3

    Rana said,

    Thanks for putting me on the Carnival. I can’t wait to read everyone’s post.

  4. 4

    sunnymama said,

    Great! Off to read these posts 🙂

  5. 5

    Angela said,

    Thanks so much for putting this together and for including me. There are some fantastic posts here, and I can’t wait for the next carnival!

  6. 6

    Karen said,

    I’m bummed that I missed submitting to this one – August slipped away from me, but I will not let that happen in September…
    Looking forward to reading the posts, they all look great!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment