Carnival of Unschooled Life: The Rough Cut

CarnivalLogo

Go to life, not school.

Many years ago, before it was released, I had the privilege of seeing a rough cut of the film Kramer vs. Kramer. The director of the film introduced the screening. Many of the scenes ended abruptly, and sometimes the scenes did not flow together smoothly. There were no titles, and the background music had not yet been added. But I still got the full sense of the movie, in spite of the “roughness.”

That’s what I’m hoping you’ll say about this carnival. There aren’t many entries; I’m attributing that to the fact that it’s summer and the carnival is brand-new. The entries that are here are wonderful, though, and I’ve tried to flesh out the empty sections with some content.

So, without further ado, here is the very first Carnival of Unschooled Life. It’s rough, but I hope you get the sense of it.

lifeathome

Life at Home

Belle, an unschooling mom, presents How to make Fried Zucchini – with pictures posted at Homesteaderbelle’s Blog.

outintheworld

Out in the World

Karen presents Of Muskets and Memories, Part 3 posted at The Stone Age Techie.

Idzie presents Punk, jazz, and good times! posted at I’m Unschooled. Yes, I Can Write.

inspirations

Inspirations

Kate Hopkins presents 10 Most Successful and Famous College Dropouts posted at Online College Degree.

darknightsofthesoul

Dark Nights of the Soul

Jena presents When it Looks Like They’re Not Learning posted at Yarns of the Heart.

encountersoftheschool-ykind

Encounters of the School-y Kind

Since no one submitted a post for this category, I’ll share my favorite story. It’s a multiplication tables story. Everybody has one. This is mine.

When my daughter was about nine, her pediatrician, after poking and prodding her, stared straight into her eyes and said, “What’s seven times seven?” No, “Hi. How are you? What do you like to do?” Just “What’s seven times seven.” He is not our pediatrician anymore.

beginnings

Beginnings

Heather Newman presents All Together Now posted at Daily Cuppa Joy . . . Life is Sweet.

passages

Passages

No posts were submitted for this category, either, so I’ll print the category description:

If your unschooled children are grown, you probably have many thoughts about the experience of living an unschooled life. Whatever you child is doing now and how he feels about it have  been profoundly influenced by the choice to unschool. Tell the carnival about what the passage from childhood to adulthood was like for your unschooler, and for you.


miscellaneous

Miscellaneous

Two posters had college on their minds. First, Steven Germain presents College is a Scam posted at Rough Fractals.

Then, Chigozie presents The Tragedy of the College Dropout posted at The Blog of Chigozie Orieh.

***My deepest thanks to all who submitted posts. Please submit to the next edition of The Carnival of Unschooled Life — which will be here at The Exapnding Life on September 1, 2009 — by using the carnival submission form. Past posts can be found on the blog carnival index page.

16 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jena said,

    What a great carnival! It’s not sparse at all! You know, I get bogged down by all the choices at those really big carnivals, anyway. This is a great opportunity for unschooling bloggers to contribute and stand out. Way to go, starting a new carnival.

  2. 3

    Heather said,

    Thanks for getting this started! I enjoyed reading through the entries 🙂

  3. 5

    What fun! i am off to read – thank you!

  4. 6

    Sarah said,

    How very cool. I’ll see if I can get anything put together that’s quality enough for this.

  5. 8

    Rana said,

    I have been waiting for this. Can’t wait to read these. I will try and submit for the September carnival.

  6. 10

    steadymom said,

    I’d love to submit next time as well! Glad to have discovered these great reads.

    Jamie

  7. 12

    Karen said,

    Thanks for including me, Susan – this is a great Carnival, just the right size, so that I can really read all the posts instead of glancing through them. I will post the link from my blog soon!

  8. 14

    ~Katherine said,

    I love the little pictures between each blog like a little merry go round.

  9. 15

    Idzie said,

    Awesome! Some really cool links to check out…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment