Smaller Pieces

I tend to be a bit too strict with myself. I tend to make rules for myself when none are needed. For example, when I want to write a book, I decide that means I can’t write a blog, too. Not true.  I can. So here I am, still moving on, but not moving out.

My book is slow going. My husband’s very good way of dealing with anything difficult is to break it into smaller pieces. That’s what I’ve been doing with the book. So, now I’m no longer writing a book. I’m simply jotting down memories. If the memories twist and turn themselves into a book one day, so be it.

Smaller pieces mean more room for more things: more experiences, more feelings, more light, more air. Smaller pieces mean that I can be here, back at this blog. That makes me feel bigger.

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Absolutely! I get frustrated when I realize I have so many projects I want to work on, then I do a tiny bit at a time and it all gets done! Same with homeschooling … I get in a hurry and then make a plan and see that if my kid does 1 workbook page a day, he’s done by X date and i can relax! Good for you … you’re learning how to sit back and just BE …

  2. 3

    Laura Weldon said,

    I love the way you explain that small steps leave room for “more light, more air.” So true. And something I need to remember!

    Your book will be amazing.

  3. 4

    sgaissert said,

    Something we all need to remember. Thank you for your work and your friendship, Laura.

  4. 5

    Sylvia Woodman said,

    Yay! I was so glad to see this this morning! Welcome back!!!!

  5. 7

    Cristina said,

    Being here means you are actually writing, which is always a good thing for a writer! 🙂

    My mother constantly reminds me I’ve already written my book, it’s just that the pieces are scattered on my blog. I’ve written over 600 comic strips over the course of five years, so all that blog time was well spent!

    Peace and Laughter!

  6. 9

    sunnymama said,

    So lovely to see you back here again! 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

