Carnival of Unschooled Life—December 2010 Edition

CarnivalLogo

Go to life, not school.

This is going to be the last carnival for a while—maybe a long while. Thanks to the confidence I’ve gained from living the unschooled life with my daughter, I’m embarking on a new project. I’ll keep you posted about it here on the blog. For now, I’ll just say that the determination, sense of purpose, and self-discipline I see in Stephanie have inspired me to do something I’ve had in my head for twenty-five years. I’m going to write a book (not about unschooling) and if I can write half as well as my daughter can, I’ll consider myself lucky.

So, without further ado, here is the final (for a while) edition of the Carnival of Unschooled Life. Enjoy!

lifeathome

Life at Home

Jen at Best Family Adventures presents When Homeschoolers Go Unsupervised.

Creating Nirvana describes Homeschooling on a Rainy Day.

outintheworld

Out in the World

Christina Pilkington at An Eclectic Odyssey offers Fall Hikes.

inspirations

Inspirations

I’ve been inspired by a friend of mine, who has recently taken her act on the road, speaking to groups of parents about how unschooling has helped her son blossom. We all don’t have the opportunity to give speeches at education fairs, but most of us have a chance to talk about our life choices to neighbors, friends, or relatives. Just a simple declaration (“We encourage our children to spend as much time as they want to, doing the things they love to do.”) can plant a seed for acceptance of unschooling in the world.

darknightsofthesoul

Dark Nights of the Soul

They don’t help you, or your child, or the world. So, when you’re having one, imagine yourself flipping on a light switch and, in that light, taking a positive action that will help you, or your child, or the world—preferably all three!

encountersoftheschool-ykind

Encounters of the School-y Kind

It’s always something. Today it this article in the New York Times about kids “being groomed as athletes before they can walk.” Just the other day, I saw a six-year-old who looked very tired, because he had played soccer on two different teams that day. Two games in one day. He’s six. He didn’t look “sleepy” tired. He looked “overburdened” tired. No one needs to be overburdened, especially not children.

beginnings Beginnings

Jessica at Bohemian Bowmans declares That’s stupid. So I’m not going to do it anymore. I absolutely love this post.

passages

Passages

I’m about to pass through a door that’s been waiting for me, half open, for many, many years. There must be a door waiting for you, too.

Miscellaneous

Cristina at Home Spun Juggling offers Happy (Learning) Days.

****

My deepest thanks to everyone who contributes and everyone who reads this for supporting The Carnival of Unschooled Life. Words are beams of light. Let’s continue to shine them on the things we believe in.

****

There is no future edition of the carnival scheduled at this time.

****

Live, laugh, play, learn, talk, walk, hug, dance, sing, and shine—until we meet again.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Cristina said,

    Thanks so much for posting the unschooling carnival! I’ve enjoyed participating in it. Good luck with your book! I’ve considered compiling my comics for a while, but the time I spend writing the comics usually ends up taking precedence and there goes all my extra time for the week. 🙂

    Peace and Laughter!

  2. 2

    Rana said,

    Thank you so much for the Carnival. I have enjoyed being apart of it. I hope the book writing goes well. This has been fun. I wish I had enough time to have submitted for this last one. I hope you keep blogging I enjoy reading your posts.

    • 3

      sgaissert said,

      Thank you Cristina, Rana, and Carrie, for your kind words. I’ll still be here at The Expanding Life, and, Carrie, I hope you’ll keep up with all the blogs mentioned in previous carnivals, to keep you inspired about unschooling. Love to all of you.

  3. 4

    Carrie said,

    Thanks for hosting the carnival. I am moving more and more towards unschooling and I have loved reading everyone’s posts. Thanks!

  4. 5

    Pamela said,

    I will miss this carnival- I felt so much at home here with our eclectic and relaxed style. I so wish I had not missed the deadline for the final one. Blessings in your endeavors!

  5. 6

    sunnymama said,

    Looking forward to hearing more about your new project and thanks for all the carnivals! I haven’t finished catching up with all the carnival posts yet so will be back to read more in the new year. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

