Notebooks, Notebooks Everywhere

I’ve been nesting again. This time my goal is to organize the gazillion notebooks that live here in our house. I have lovely fabric boxes from the office supply store, and I have determined that approximately twenty-eight notebooks (composition-type or spiral-bound one-subject) fit inside each box. I’ve already filled five . . .

What do we write in these notebooks? How long have we been filling them? Why do we keep them? My, you ask a lot of questions! But that’s okay. Here are the answers:

  • We write stories, lists, plans, dreams, memories, and sometimes just random words. We also draw in our notebooks when the mood strikes us.
  • There have been notebooks around here for as long as I can remember. I myself have always been a lover of paper and books of every kind, and Stephanie inherited some of my passion for the blank white sheet of wood pulp. This time of year (“back-to-school”) is an especially good time to get mass quantities of paper products at a very reasonable price.
  • We keep our old notebooks because they are great fun to rediscover years later. To see Stephanie’s seven-year-old handwriting fills me with the love I had for her seven-year-old self. To read jokes she wrote at age ten still makes us laugh. To be able to relive the details of what we did on a particular date nine years ago is a precious gift for the entire family.

So, the notebooks stay, and I find ways to accommodate them. Whoever said we were becoming a paperless society certainly doesn’t live here!

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Cristina said,

    This is great. New reasons to justify my addiction to notebooks!

    Peace and Laughter!

  2. 2

    Karen said,

    Until I started blogging, I never saw the sense in writing stuff down, and I was always vaguely jealous of people who did 🙂

    What I have, though, is a huge stack of photo albums, which we accommodate as well as we can in between those times when they are spread out all over the floor, with the boys looking at relatives when they were younger or the Halloween costumes my brothers and I had growing up.

    Great post!

    • 3

      sgaissert said,

      Photo albums are a great way for kids to get to know their relatives and their history, aren’t they? I was enlightened when Stephanie looked at my young-teen photos and declared me “pretty.” I know she’s influenced by the fact that she loves me, but it also made me see that I really wasn’t as much of a dog-face as I thought I was (as we all think we are at that age!).

      Thanks, Karen.

  3. 4

    Kim said,

    Notebooks are great! We’ve also been known to collect receipts, napkins and other such things that have recorded story ideas, interesting words, inspiring quotes, etc. We won’t be going paperless anytime soon either.

  4. 6

    Pamela said,

    We have notebooks everywhere too, and I don’t see an end in sight! Love the fabric boxes as a pretty way to organize / store them. It looks much nicer than the random stacks I have all over my house 😉


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

