What Time Does the Movie Start?

When I was a kid, I got the movie listing for the local theater from the local newspaper. When I was a young adult, I called the theater to hear a recordings of the movie times. Now, I look for movie times online.

This morning, the computer was being extremely uncooperative, so I called the number listed for my local theater to find out the movie times. The number has been disconnected. Then it hit me: even if there had been a number to call, my local theater has 24 screens. The recorded message would have been as long as a movie!

Luckily, the computer decided to be polite again this afternoon, so Stephanie and I know what time we will be seeing Ramona and Beezus later today. We’re such Beverly Cleary fans that we simply must check it out, even though the reviews we’ve read have been lukewarm at best. But hope springs eternal when the source material is of such excellent quality!

They got the shiny red boots right!

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Rana said,

    Ooooh! I can’t wait to take my kids to go see that. My dad used to read Ramona and Beezus to me, and Henry and Otis Spofford. I loved Ribsy too. Have a good time.

    • 2

      sgaissert said,

      We did. The movie Ramona is older than the “Ramona and Beezus” Ramona, so don’t get your hopes up for tricycle riding and “Mike Mulligan.” : )

  2. 3

    Cristina said,

    Is the shiny red boots your review? :-) How was it? I’m a Ramona book fan who is a little worried about seeing it.

    Peace and Laughter!

  3. 5

    Aster said,

    I don’t mind Selena Gomez, but it’s awfully weird for her to be cast as Beezus. I’ve been reading my sister the books for years, and we used to take VHS tapes of an old Ramona TV series out of the public library. There’s about the same age difference between Ramona and Beezus as between my sister and I, so they’ve always been favourites.
    We’re going to see it as soon as we’re done rereading. I’ll have to try and get over Selena as Beezus by then. Apparently Miley Cyrus was their first choice, and I really don’t think I could believe that.

    • 6

      sgaissert said,

      Thanks for your comment. To tell you the truth, Selena Gomez didn’t have much to do in the film, so she wasn’t hard to take. Miley Cyruseven with little to dowould have been ridiculous, in my opinion! I really liked the old Ramona show that’s now available in the library. Best wishes with the new movie.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

