Take This Book, Please!

When I heard about A People’s History of Science, I couldn’t wait to read it. I really liked the idea that science wasn’t just the creation of an elite group of people, like the guy who discovered bacteria, but the property of all of the people who—as part of  their everyday, working lives—discovered and invented the tools and procedures and foundations we live by today.

When I got my hands on A People’s History of Science, I discovered something: it’s too, well, scientific, for me to read.  Don’t get me wrong; it isn’t written in sixteen-syllable doctoral thesis language. It just isn’t for me. I don’t have enough of a background to jump into the discussions the author, Clifford D. Conner, has here. I need the “juvenile non-fiction” version of this book.

So, I’d like to give this book to someone who will enjoy it. If I was your eighth-grade science teacher, I’d make you write an essay about why you want to “win” A People’s History of Science, but , thankfully, I’m deschooled, so if you would like to “obtain” this book, please just post a comment here by May 31, 2010. On June 1, I will close my eyes and point at a comment, because that’s my scientific method. will then contact the “obtainer” via email and arrange for the obtaining!

Okay? Okay! Start commenting . . .

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Shirley said,

    LOL I would probably need the “juvenile” edition, too. But, maybe DH will like it 🙂

  2. 2

    Larry said,

    Ooh ooh ooh! Me me me! 🙂 I love science!

  3. 3

    cherish said,

    *Raises hand* I offer to write a blog post reviewing it once finished.

  4. 4

    Red said,

    I’d like to read it – that’d be cool.

  5. 5

    Karen said,

    This kind of book is RIGHT up my alley. I hope you close your eyes and point to me, because I had never even heard of it before and now I simply must have it!

    🙂

  6. 6

    Hazel Gaines said,

    If only more than 73 people could hear this!

  7. 7

    sgaissert said,

    AND THE WINNER OF THE BOOK, BASED ON THE HIGHLY SCIENTIFIC FINGER-POINTING EXERCISE,, IS . . . Cherish! How cool that she will post a review, too. Karen, I’m so sorry . . . same to the rest of you. But the finger-pointing is scientificly proven to be 100 percent accurate.

  8. 8

    cherish said,

    Once I’m done, I’m a firm believer in recycling, so I’m happy to pass it along to one of you with the request that you do the same when you’re done. Does that sound reasonable?

  9. 10

    Rebecca K said,

    Would love to read this!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

