Rainy Day People

I love, love, love The Random House Book of Poetry for Children. I turned to it today because it’s rainy and cold and I wanted something to “chair” me up. (Stephanie used to say “chair” for “cheer” when she was a wee thing.)

I found this:

Some People

Isn’t it strange some people make
You feel so tired inside,
Your thoughts begin to shrivel up
Like leaves all brown and dried!

But when you’re with some other ones,
It’s stranger still to find
Your thoughts as thick as fireflies
All shiny in your mind!

Rachel Field

Luckily, even though it’s wet and windy and dark and gloomy outside,

I’m inside with one of the “other ones,” full of shiny thoughts.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mary B. said,

    I’m the black sheep of the family, the one who loves overcast, gray days. Must go back to my happy days in England, and fond childhood memories of hiding away in my room, reading all day, listening to rain fall down the gutter on the outside wall of my room…

  2. 2

    Shirley said,

    Mmm. Yum. Lovely. Sigh. 🙂

  3. 3

    Cristina said,

    HOW did you know that very book was sitting on my kitchen table??? One of my children took it out to find something to read for storytelling tomorrow!

    Peace and Laughter!

  4. 5

    Jennifer said,

    I may have to check out this book…my children (for some reason) hate poetry, and I’ve always loved it…

    • 6

      sgaissert said,

      I hope you do try it; it’s a lovely mix of “fun” poetry and really sophisticated things, like Frost’s “Stopping By Woods.” The illustrations are great, too.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

