Facebook: Dropping Back In

Courtesy of Dave Coverly

Last summer, I joined Facebook and then quickly became a Facebook dropout. Luckily, I decided to give the social network another try, and I am happy to say that I’ve got it down: Facebook and I are now very good friends!

I think the problem last time was twofold: I didn’t know what to expect, and I didn’t know who to make friends with. This time, I went into Facebook knowing that I wanted substantial information and conversation about topics that are meaningful to me, and so I sought out friends who would provide those things. Voila! I am now better educated, better informed, and generally a happier person because of my daily dose of Facebook.

Like anything else, Facebook is an art. Choosing your Facebook friends is like planning a fabulous party: you need to decide who to invite, and you need to mingle. Unschooling, politics, current events, beautiful music, important video clips, memories of youth—I have a wonderful time partaking of these things every day, thanks to my Facebook friends.

I’m very glad I dropped back in.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Patty said,

    I, for one, am glad you dropped back in…otherwise, we never would have found each other again!

  2. 3

    Shirley said,

    Nicely stated. I’m glad you found a way for Facebook to work for you…it works well for me to have you there 🙂

  3. 5

    Tatiana said,

    I’m still a facebook fraidy-cat (still no account for me). But you make me reconsider! Also – the cartoon is great! Thanks for sharing your turnaround!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

