No Recess Coach Needed

Add this to your list of reasons why you homeschool, or unschool, or whatever you call it: it eliminates the need for a recess coach.

What’s a recess coach, you might ask? Read David Elkind’s piece in the New York Times. The author of The Hurried Child will tell you all about it. He writes:

A University of Michigan study found that from 1979 to 1999, children on the whole lost 12 hours of free time a week, including eight hours of unstructured play and outdoor activities.

From 1996 to 2007, my child played outside a lot. She reveled in what Elkind calls “free-form experience.” I having a feeling your kids did, or still do, too.

Count your lucky stars.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mike Lanza said,

    I just published an article describing why I think that Elkind’s article is a betrayal of the “free play” movement that he helped start. Check it out:

    The Neville Chamberlain of Free Play

    • 2

      sgaissert said,

      Thanks, Mike. I wanted to register and comment, but the program kept telling me I wasn’t entering the code word correctly (and I think I was!) 😦

      Here’s my comment:

      Thanks for letting me know about your post. The fact that Elkind says, “We have to adapt to childhood as it is today, not as we knew it or would like it to be. ” makes him different from people like you and me. We can make our kids’ childhoods as we would like them to be! Susan https://sgaissert.wordpress.com


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

