The Other Side of Surgery

This will be brief because I am feeling drained. My surgery was a success! I cannot believe that I am home writing this, when, twenty-four hours ago I was sleeping off my anesthesia, and thirty-six hours ago I was being prepped for a three-hour operation.

I have strange painful air pockets in places like my shoulder (odd but true), and I am tired, but my incisions don’t hurt at all.  And I am home, sweet home.

Your comments made me feel very loved. Thank you for them.

I’ll let you know how I’m doing as the recovery goes on.

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Shirley said,

    Wheee! Welcome home 🙂

  2. 2

    Karen said,

    Glad you are recovering!
    Thanks for the update, keep feeling better –
    🙂

  3. 3

    Heather said,

    Glad you are home safe and sound 🙂

  4. 4

    Henry Cate said,

    I’m glad you made it home safe and sound.

    My wife had surgery two weeks ago, so we’ve been through some of the same stuff.

    I hope your recovery goes well.

    • 5

      sgaissert said,

      Thanks so much. Best wishes to your wife! Susan

      • 6

        Henry Cate said,

        Thanks. Janine is doing well. The biggest thing we have to watch for is she is feeling better and is tempted to start doing more.

      • 7

        sgaissert said,

        That can be a problem, but maybe you can encourage her to work on a nice, sedentary hobby, like needlework, a scrapbook, or redoing the address book. I am crocheting when I feel like being busy.

        Glad she’s doing well. See you at the next carnival. : ) Susan

  5. 8

    Sam said,

    So glad you are home and feeling relatively okay.

  6. 10

    Rana said,

    Glad you are home and things went well. Take it slow getting back to your daily routine. Best wishes!

    • 11

      sgaissert said,

      Thank you. I am actually feeling a tiny bit worse, pain-wise, and I think it’s because I am feeling a little stronger and the temptation to “do” things is hard to resist when you’re a housewife. But “Resist!” shall be my motto! Susan

  7. 12

    Diane said,

    I have been following your blog for a whiel. Hope you are feeling well after surgery. i am hosting an art giveaway that you might find interesting. Stop by when you have a chance and take a peek.
    Blessings
    Diane

    • 13

      sgaissert said,

      Thanks, Diane. I wanted to comment on your lovely shelves and the book The Cabin Faces West, but the way your Comments section is set up, I cannot see the verification word and therefore cannot post a comment.

      Again, thanks for your comment. Susan


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

