See You On the Other Side

Of my hysterectomy, that is. One of the dear, supportive women on HysterSisters used that phrase, and I really like it. For me, the other side of tomorrow’s surgery will be a place where:

  • I don’t have lower back pain.
  • I’m not tired all the time.
  • I don’t have a five-month uterus full of fibroids. (Sorry if that’s too much information for some of you.)
  • I don’t feel pregnant (without the glow).
  • I do have energy.
  • I can say, “Oh yes, I had a Da Vinci laparoscopic supracervical hysterectomy. It was wonderful. I highly recommend it.”

So, please give a thought to me as I have surgery on January 5, 2009. I’ll see you on the other side.

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Cristina said,

    Good luck with your surgery! You have a great attitude going in. I don’t think I could even say laparoscopic supracervical hysterectomy without severely injuring my tongue!

    Peace and Laughter!

    • 2

      sgaissert said,

      You’re a very witty woman. My attitude isn’t THAT great. I’m scared. But I’m more anxious to be done with it than I am scared. And logically I know I really have no good reason to be scared. But who can be logical 24 hours a day?

      Thanks for the good luck. Susan

  2. 3

    Cherish said,

    Good luck! I hope everything goes flawlessly!

  3. 5

    Shirley said,

    Wow. Tears in my eyes. Thank you for sharing before going in…my very best wishes for a smooth day tomorrow.

  4. 7

    Karen said,

    Susan, I had exactly that same kind of hysterectomy about 4 years ago and, while the first week or so was no picnic, it was definitely the right decision!
    I wish you all the best tomorrow, and hope that your surgery is completely successful and uneventful – I’ll be thinking about you!
    Please post when you can to let us know that you are okay…
    šŸ™‚

    • 8

      sgaissert said,

      How amazing that we now share a surgery style. I’m feeling the incisions now, and I’m tired, of course, but things could be way worse. Thanks for all your concern.

  5. 9

    Heather said,

    I’m hoping that everything goes well today! Here’s to a future with no back pain and lots of energy šŸ™‚

  6. 11

    sunnymama said,

    I do hope everything went well and you’re feeling better soon. Love and best wishes šŸ™‚


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

