I Convert People

Well, at least I make the effort. Harper Perennial Modern Classics, through the efforts of Jennifer Hart, is re-releasing the Betsy-Tacy high-school-and-beyond books by Maud Hart Lovelace:

As part of the push to keep these wonderful books in print, Jennifer came up with a “convert” plan. I immediately took the bait. Here’s how it worked:

  • Jennifer sent me a copy of Heaven to Betsy/Betsy in Spite of Herself.
  • I selected a poor soul who knows not the wonders of Betsy’s world and asked her if she would read the book.
  • Many, many other B-T lovers did the same, and if the plan works, Betsy-Tacy fever will sweep the nation!

I gave the book to my best friend, who loves classic “girl” books as much as I do, but somehow missed these. I’m waiting to hear what she thinks, but I already know she’ll love it.

If you would like to convert to the cult of B-T, now is the time. You’ll be glad you did!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    sgaissert said,

    I just heard from my convert. She reports: “There are so many things I love about the book…from the time period, to the language, and even the typesetting! I have such unusual feelings reading this book at this age! I love Betsy of course, but in a strange way I find myself identifying so much with Mrs. Ray! She is like the Donna Reed of my girlhood (oh how I wanted life to be like that!). That is why I love the movie Pleasantville so much. Anyway, back to Betsy and her great life!”


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

