Check Out the Carnival of Homeschooling

This week’s Carnival of Homeschooling has a few unschool-y posts that I’d like to share:

  • The philosopher of adolescence, about writer/director John Hughes and his creation, Ferris Bueller. I really must see that movie someday. The quotes from it in the post are very funny and, unfortunately, sum up my attitude about high school all too well.
  • Is College for Unschoolers even Possible? After explaining all the reasons you may think it is not, the writer of this post goes on to explain that the answer is a triumphant “yes.”

To the homeschoolers reading this, I wish you happy trips to to the store to buy crayons and pens and pencils and notebooks. Bringing them home and deciding the purpose of each precious item is something my daughter and I love to do, too.

August is almost over, and whether your September holds a curriculum or not, it’s an exciting month, when the breezes grow a little bit cooler at night and almost imperceptibly begin to usher in a new year.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Susan said,

    Thanks for your kind acknowledgment and stopping by. I’m afraid the Ferris Bueller quotes sum up my high school experience too. Wish I’d been a Ferris-ella. 🙂

  2. 2

    Keith Wilcox said,

    I went to buy my homes school supplies and on top of having fun I also managed to make it for cheap. Thank you for the links, both were good reads. Particularly the Ferris Bueller one. That is one of my favorite movies of all times.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

