The Magic Number

In a little more than three months, my child will reach the magic number I’ve dreamed about during times of despair — times when I’ve felt the way ex-radicals living on the run from the law must feel.

Okay, so I’m a bit dramatic. I’m not doing anything illegal. I’m unschooling. And if my kid had to have a showdown with an SAT test today, she’d whip out her intellectual six shooters and do just fine. But after she reaches the magic number, everything will be so much easier.

She’ll be sixteen. In our state, when you’re sixteen, you are no longer required by law to attend school, or to be schooled.

Sweet sixteen. When that beautiful day approaches, she will be a truly liberated teenager. An unabashed girl with a goat on her head. To me, at least. For her, the day has other meanings — some she has discussed with her parents and some that remain blissfully secret and personal.

Sixteen candles. When she blows them out, the specter of Big Brother School will be off my back for good. I think I’ve earned it.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Karen said,

    On my sixteenth birthday, my favorite auntie sent me sixteen red roses. I felt so grown up! I’m so happy for you and your daughter, I can imagine what this milestone means to you both.

    Thank you for this post!

    PS I have been away on vacation for a few weeks – can I still submit a post to Carnival of Unschooling? I hope so, but if I missed this one, you can bet I will make the next one 🙂

  2. 2

    Karen W said,

    Congratulations and Happy Birthday to your daughter!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

