Happy 1st Birthday to The Expanding Life

It is hard for me to believe that I started this blog one year ago today. My goals were:

  1. to write regularly
  2. to think of the blog as a magazine
  3. to carve out a niche in the great and glorious blogosphere

I feel that I’ve achieved those goals. With regard to the niche, it’s certainly a small one, as it should be, but the “friends”‘ I’ve made in cyberspace truly make me feel at home here. That means you, Karen, Jo, Cheryl, Mister Dad, Jena, “Fanny,” Colleen, “Sunny Mama”, and Nicki.

I considered shelving the blog, to focus on my writing here, but I realized I still want to write about other things more suitable to this blog.

I’m going to do some housekeeping soon and change some of my categories and tags to more accurately reflect the things I tend to write about. I’m also going to take the big plunge and change “Homeschooling” to “Unschooling,” because that’s what we do here, and I’m not afraid to say it anymore.

Life really does shrink or expand depending upon one’s courage. I’ve expanded this year, and I look forward to doing more of the same in the year to come.

I hope you’ll be with me. Thanks for being part of the journey so far.

Love,
Susan

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Colleen said,

    Happy bloggy birthday!! 🙂

  2. 2

    Cherish said,

    Happy blogiversary!

    I’m glad you’re not shelving it. I always enjoy hearing your thoughts. 🙂

  3. 3

    sunnymama said,

    Awww happy 1st birthday! What a lovely post and I’m honoured that you count me as one of your blog friends 🙂 I really enjoy coming here to read your take on different things and am so pleased that you’ve decided to carry on posting here. How great that you are taking the plunge to change ‘homeschooling’ to ‘unschooling’ too. I look forward to reading more unschooling and other posts, and more expansion 🙂

  4. 4

    Karen said,

    Happy Blog-day!
    I’m glad you decided to keep going here, your perspective is such a good and important one. Thanks for counting me in, too – I’m so happy to be a blog-friend of yours 🙂

  5. 5

    Jo said,

    Happy first blogiversary! Keep on going, because you do a great job. Love to keep up with your thoughts and ideas.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

