The Clothesline is Strung!

clothesline1

It’s the day I’ve been waiting for: warm sun, light breeze, wet clean clothes, and . . . my very own backyard clothesline. It’s a little droopy, but we can fix that later.

Hanging the clothes was a pleasure; listening to the birds sing is so much nicer than listening to the dryer hum. Now, I just have to remember to take the clothes off the line before the evening dampness settles in.

In the meantime, when I look out the back door, the clothes seem to be waving at me, and saying things like “Thanks!” and “I like it out here!”

I have a favor to ask: if you remember wearing flannel pajamas that had been dried outside on a cold day until they were frozen stiff and then hung over the radiator to soften — please comment! I surely can’t be the only person who remembers that.

*This post is dedicated to my mother, a clothes-hanging expert who never had a dryer until she moved to a senior citizens apartment building at age 72.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Karen said,

    Yes! We just dried our first two loads on the clothesline this week, everything smells sooooo good.

    Happy spring!

  2. 2

    sunnymama said,

    I love to have clothes dried on the line, and I think they look good too! Love your picture 🙂

  3. 3

    Dakotagirl said,

    I love bath towels and sheets that have dried outside on the clothesline.

    Susan, your photo is great, I love it.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

