Tuesday’s Tribute: Daffodils

Yes, daffodils. I know that these tributes are supposed to focus on the fact that “it’s not all about you.” Well, daffodils have always helped me to do that. Just this morning I was telling my daughter that looking carefully at a flower never fails to make me think that there must be a God. And daffodils are my favorite flowers.

Here’s a daffodil. Doesn’t it look like a trumpet? To me, a daffodil sings out “Toot-toot, ta-da, spring is here!” Nothing could be cheerier. Those gorgeous yellow petals. That graceful green stem. Daffodils stand so tall, and when they finally start to droop, they still look elegant.

William Wordsworth knew how I feel about daffodils when he wrote in “I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud:”

And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

Thank you, God, for all the flowers, and especially for daffodils.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    sumanlatik said,

    If you are able to see real live daffodils, then you are so, so lucky. Am pining to catch a live one, but since they don’t grow out here, I will be content looking at the beautiful one you’ve posted up there.

    Daffodils never fail to bring a big bright smile to my lips and I appreciate anyone who can share the sentiment with me. Thank you.

  2. 2

    myfirefly said,

    Thank you for your beautiful words to a flower with unmatched beauty. I was not aware of this flower until a very special kindred, introduced me to this awe inspiring flower. I drew a heavy sigh after reading your blog. I am from Florida and I don’t really think they grow them here because the weather can be ruthless sometimes. I am happy for you that you’ve seen a live one, and they probably grow abundantly in your neck of the woods.
    This afternoon before I pick up my kids from school, I stopped by the store to pick up a few things. As soon as I enter the store my gaze turned towards the flower department, and who was looking at me but 3 pots of golden yellow flowers with trumpets shaped against a star shaped background! Daffodils and they were smiling right back at me! Like Wordsworth , “I gazed and gazed but little thought, what wealth the show to me had bought!”At first I said Omigosh, then I cried! Why? Because the God of the universe, in charge of 6 billion or so people, stopped what He was doing and met my needs. He heard my sighs! Yes, there is a GOD!
    I can never thank you enough! God bless you! By the way those daffodils found a home, I am looking at them right now! 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

