That BIG Infection!

Ah, Gentle Reader, what started as a little tickle led to a big, ugly, all-encompassing sinus infection. I think I would have preferred Ali MacGraw’s perfect little disease in Love Story (except for the part where she dies from it). Instead, I experienced a five-day symphony of symptoms: fever, coughs, chills, the occasional crescendo of a sneeze, the constant undercurrent of shallow, labored breathing. It seemed as if my condition would last forever, until the powerful “highly specific” antibiotic flew to my bedside and cast away the weak and wimpy “wide-spectrum” antibiotic I had been given by the mysterious “weekend doctor on call.” Suddenly, my symptoms, one by one, began to wither and my life slowly began to expand once more.

And what did I learn from this experience? Perhaps that “Love means never having to say you’re sorry?” Nope. How about “A highly specific antibiotic in the hand is worth two wide-spectrum antibiotics in the medicine chest?” Or, as my husband loves to say, “Having the right tool for the job makes all the difference.”

Well, Gentle Reader, I shall leave you now and drink some more water. It’s good to be back among the vertical people.

Leave a Reply

