February 7th: Happy Birthday, Laura

Today is the birthday of the queen of children’s authors, Laura Ingalls Wilder. I like Laura. I’ve liked her for as long as I can remember I am proud to be associated with a newsletter about her called The Homesteader, and I am proud to have met people who devote much of their lives to making sure her works and the history they represent stay with us. These people include William Anderson, Barbara Walker, Dean Butler, Sandra Hume, Trini Wenninger, and all of the people who work at the Laura Ingalls Wilder homesites.

Happy Birthday, Laura. Thank you for your books.

This is my favorite photograph of Laura: she’s at the right, with her older sister Mary next to her and her younger sister Carrie at the left. Laura looks so bold, so determined. She reminds me of a strong horse, ready for a good ride.

1 Response so far »


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

