Thank You, Senator Pell

Today’s New York Times contains an appreciation of Senator Claiborne Pell. It seems he died recently. I wish I’d known his name when he was alive, so I could have thanked him. I, like millions of other low-income, high-class-rank kids, went to college because Senator Pell fought for the passage of the Basic Educational Opportunity Grant. I received the full grant amount every semester: my grades were that high and my family’s income that low.

Everybody who received a BEOG, later renamed a Pell Grant, has a story. (See Sarah Vowell’s here.) Mine includes a father chronically disabled with Parkinson’s Disease, a mother consumed by caring for him, a monthly Social Security disability check, and  a four-room apartment in the projects. College wasn’t going to happen for me without that $1,400 a semester, which covered what my state scholarship and modest student loan didn’t.

Like most of the college stories Senator Pell made possible, mine had a happy ending: I graduated, got a good job, and paid off my National Direct Student Loan of $1,900 over ten years at 3% interest. Since that time, I have been a law-abiding, tax-paying, voting citizen with a college degree. It might not have been that way if Senator Pell hadn’t believed that government exists to help its citizens live better lives.

Godspeed, Senator. Thanks for the B.A.

Leave a Reply

