Twenty-Two Dollars and Seventy Cents

On Saturday I paid a visit to one of my favorite places in town: my thrift store. As I walked from the parking lot to the entrance, I did a  quick calculation of how many items I was wearing that were purchased at the thrift store. As usual, it was just about everything except my underwear and tights.

Saturday’s finds were typical, and typically fabulous:

  • a lacy blouse that was perfect for Saturday night’s Christmas party: $4.95
  • an Ann Taylor sweater that’s stylish and warm: $4.95 (I don’t care about brand names, and I’m only mentioning the name because it’s kind of fun to get a high-priced item for so little money.)
  • an ankle-length skirt that will be perfect for New Year’s Eve: $2.95
  • a gray wool sweater with sequins on it, also perfect for New Year’s Eve: $3.95
  • a polka-dot blouse: $2.95
  • black leather Mary Jane flats: $2.95

Maybe, just maybe, I could have gotten the polka-dot blouse for $25.00 at a regular department store. But to get all that for $22.70? What’s that saying? “Fuggedaboudit.”

As I often say to my husband, “If that thrift store ever goes out of business, I don’t know what I’ll do.”

My only question: Why isn’t everyone shopping this way??

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Candy Cook said,

    I Love the thrift store. My sons call it the “surprise store.” 😀 But, I was raised shopping in thrift stores more often than dept stores. I think some folks just weren’t brought up to enjoy ‘hand me downs,’ though I do often find brand new items there. I always think that is a bit odd.

  2. 2

    You’re right, Candy. My mother raised me to look for bargains everywhere. I think that some people were raised to view “hand-me-downs” as something to be avoided, rather than as “surprises.” Something else I forgot to mention in the post: thrift stores have so much more variety than department stores.

  3. 3

    Nancy said,

    This year I gave my family some gifts that were “previously owned”, and none of them minded. However, had I tried that with my in-laws, they would have been insulted. Most of my kids clothes are second hand, many handed down by friends. I pass them on when we’re done with them as well. I love thrifting, too. I always find deals, and now I buy old sheets and other home fabrics and repurpose them into bags or other clothes, instead of buying new fabric. Its fun!

  4. 4

    Free said,

    ohhh I love ‘thrift stores’ (or Op Shops as we call them here). Unfortunately too many people love them these days and I don’t find the bargains I used to. The prices have gone up and the good stuff is gone!
    So please, shhh, don’t tell everyone how fantastic they are lol.

  5. 5

    […] Gaissert presents Twenty-Two Dollars and Seventy Cents posted at The Expanding Life, “about my favorite place in town: the thrift […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

