Of Mothers and Daughters

My mother has been dead for a little over three years.

I am fifty years old now.

My daughter just turned fifteen.

These facts commingle in my mind and lead me, as deep thought often does, to a poem.

The Adversary by Phyllis McGinley

A mother’s hardest to forgive.

Life is the fruit she longs to hand you,

Ripe on a plate. And while you live,

Relentlessly she understands you.

How’s that for a perfect gem? Think about it. That’s the whole story of mother-daughter relationships, right there in four perfect lines.

Here’s a picture of my “adversary,” who of course is also the vessel of my deepest feelings of love. By the way, I have completely forgiven her, and I am enjoying the fruit.

mom1

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Colleen said,

    What a perfect poem.
    I love the photo of your mom.

  2. 2

    […] Gaissert presents Of Mothers and Daughters posted at The Expanding Life, saying, “A post about shifting from being a daughter to being a […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

