Impossible. Ridiculous. But I Get the Point.

Sandra Dodd — an amazing woman I have never met but feel that I know, thanks to reading her intelligent and powerful words — has declared Thursday, July 24, 2008 “Learn Nothing Day.” She explains, “It’s a holiday for those who learn every single day.”

I don’t believe it can be done. Life is learning. To live is to learn. “Live and learn.” Who said that first? According to The Quotations Page, it was Douglas Adams, an English humorist and science fiction novelist, who was born six years before I was born and died in 2001. He wrote The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

To be clear, the exact quote is “You live and learn. At any rate, you live.”

So, maybe he acknowledges the possibility of living without learning. I don’t.

Sandra Dodd knows how much people who choose to live without school learn every day. Without a syllabus. Without a three-ring binder. Without John Taylor Gatto‘s despised bells. Learn Nothing Day is a way to point that out.

So check back on July 24rd, but I don’t expect to change my mind: it can’t be done.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Jena said,

    Interesting! And I agree with you. We learn all the time whether we want to or not, but I like the idea of those who view learning as an ACTIVITY to loosen up and and try not to learn. That should be a learning experience it itself! I’ve just started a website called DailyLearners.com where I have a quote from somebody about learning everyday. One of my recent favorites was Thomas Edison. He said, “I never worked a day in my life. It was all fun.”

    Gotta love it.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and linking to me! I’ll have to spend more time here and get to know you.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

