I Can’t Wait to Read This

Homeschooling in Art

One of the blogs I check regularly, Mental Multivitamin, recently posted this. The book is called Homeschool: An American History, written by Milton Gaither, and I can’t wait to read it. Here’s how amazon.com describes it:

This is a lively account of one of the most important and overlooked themes in American education. Beginning in the colonial period and working to the present, Gaither describes in rich detail how the home has been used as the base for education of all kinds. The last five chapters focus especially on the modern homeschooling movement and offer the most comprehensive and authoritative account of it ever written. Readers will learn how and why homeschooling emerged when it did, where it has been, and where it may be going.

Wow! Important, overlooked, comprehensive, authoritative — I like all those words! And I like learning about the history of things, so a book about the history of something that is so much a part of my family’s life sounds deliciously interesting.

Amazon goes on to say:

This book sets the homeschooling movement in a broader historical context and shows the remarkably diverse ways Americans have used their homes to educate from colonial times to the present. Gaither looks at the role of key themes such as social networks of communication, entrepreneurialism, and the public influence of female domesticity in the past and uses their evolution as a tool to comment on the future of homeschooling.

More wow. More fine words: broad, remarkable, evolution. I am intrigued at the prospect of exploring “the public influence of female domesticity in the past,” since I’m a female devoting much of my life to domesticity in the present.

My library usually meets all my needs, but they don’t have this book, so Amazon here I come. “To get free shipping or not to get free shipping, that is the question!”

Leave a Reply

