Things I Learned From “I Love Lucy”

There’s a wonderful article on The Natural Child Project website called “Is ‘I Love Lucy’ Educational?”

http://www.naturalchild.org/jan_hunt/ilovelucy.html

We watch a lot of “I Love Lucy” around here. I’ve been watching it all my life, and over the past few months I’ve been composing a list in my head of the things I learned, as a child, from the fictional characters and plots on “I Love Lucy.” Here it is:

  1. You need a passport to travel overseas.
  2. People who live in New York ride the subway.
  3. Landlords have to worry about heating their apartments in the winter.
  4. Performers sign contracts and are obliged to follow through on them.
  5. Professional entertainers keep different hours than “regular” people do.
  6. Some women dye their hair.
  7. Being a performer involves lots of rehearsing.
  8. There used to be a form of entertainment called vaudeville.
  9. Some women in the 1950s valued fur coats as status symbols.
  10. A side of beef is an awful lot of meat.
  11. Trains have emergency brakes.
  12. Paris in the 1950s was a center of fashion design.
  13. Helicopters can’t land on the decks of cruise ships.
  14. Women in the 1950s got dressed up to go on the subway.
  15. Women in the 1950s wore adorable little hats.

More to follow, and please feel free to add your own.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Suzanne said,

    16. That parents could not stay in the hospital with their sick children overnight.
    17. Who Tennessee Ernie Ford was.
    18. How truly tall John Wayne was.

  2. 2

    Silvia said,

    Thanks for sending this in to the CoH!

  3. 3

    Heh…I like this. Maybe I’ll make one up about “what I learned from Gilligan’s Island” or “what I learned from The Brady Bunch.” Not to be a copycat or anything…

  4. 4

    Cristina said,

    How about this one:

    A cake of yeast makes a really long loaf of bread.

    LOL! Love your post! I watched Lucy all through childhood. You brought back memories!

  5. 5

    Summer said,

    All I can remember is when they slept in separate beds. LOL So i learned that married couples kept a lamp in between them at night. 🙂

  6. 6

    Meg said,

    I remember being confused when they knew what day the baby would be born–I don’t think we saw Lucy having labor pains. She just announced that the baby would be born. . . or maybe Ricky even said something like “the baby will be born tomorrow.” And it was!

    Oh, in response to an earlier comment, Sandra Dodd has written on her blog about what she learned from Gilligan’s Island.

  7. 7

    Jan Hunt said,

    Thanks so much for mentioning my “I Love Lucy” article and expanding on it. I’m so delighted to have found this!

    As a family counselor, I’ve been thinking about what I learned about parenting from the show. I’ve come up with these:

    A loving parent can find ways to meet her child’s needs.

    Even in the 50’s it was OK to cosleep with your child if he was scared at night.

    It’s OK to disregard hospital rules if your child needs you.

    If you take a trip and leave your child at home you’ll miss him terribly,

    Any others?

    Jan Hunt, Director
    The Natural Child Project


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

